Tajikistan becomes CSTO chairman

MOSCOW: Tajikistan has taken over the chairmanship in the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) from Russia, Foreign Minister of Russia Sergei Lavrov said at a joint session of the Ministerial Council, the Council of Defense Ministers and the Committee of Secretaries of the Security Councils of the CSTO member states in Moscow on 22 December.

Sergei Lavrov noted that in line with the established procedure, the chairmanship is passed from one country to another on the eve of the session of the CSTO Collective Security Council.

Foreign Minister of Tajikistan Sirodjidin Aslov noted that Tajikistan will take advantage of its CSTO chairmanship to boost the cooperation between the member states and strengthen the positions of the organization. Tajikistan hopes for constructive cooperation with the CSTO member states in this regard.

Putin arrived at the center on Tuesday after CSTO and Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) summits together with his counterparts — the leaders of Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

The CSTO is a regional security group comprising six countries — Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Armenia.