Kazakhstan expands visa-free travel for EU, OECD Countries

ASTANA: Kazakhstan has introduced visa-free travel for all European Union (EU) and Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) countries for up to 30 days.

The Kazakh Foreign Ministry has also simplified visa rules for a further 48 countries including Malaysia, Monaco, the United Arab Emirates, and Singapore – The number of visa categories will be decreased from fourteen to three.

The move is designed to “promote a more favourable investment climate” for business and leisure travel.

Up until now, visitors had to pay £35 for a single-entry tourist visa, complete a visa application form, have hotel booking confirmations, and a letter addressed to the consular section of the Kazakhstan embassy.

The visa-free travel is for: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Great Britain, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UAE and US.

Last month, Kazakhstan’s neighbor Uzbekistan also introduced visa-free travel for citizens from 27 countries.